goffburd: (blinking hobbes)
[personal profile] goffburd
OK - I know there's been quite a few of these in recent months, but here's another one.  Following a post by a friend of mine (both real life and LJ), I've decided to host a friendzy.  It's for people looking for active LJ friends, as so many people have now migrated to Facebook etc.  Post a comment, with a description of yourself and what you're looking for - and I'll poach [livejournal.com profile] elven_ranger's sentiments of......keep it civil, dont post links advertising the latest fake viagra, and if you want to be rude to someone, do it elsewhere (I have a delete finger, and I ain't afraid to use it!)   And dont forget to share the link so that more people can join in - spread the word!



PS:  I won't add my own details on here - but anybody who's interested can find them on my User Info......
Page 1 of 15 << [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] >>

Date: 2012-02-08 02:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] changeofthemoon.livejournal.com
I never know what to say!

27 year old ornery lady and PhD student currently located in Maryland, US. I post regularly (as the lovely Goffburd can attest to!) and you should too! I spend a lot of time reading (Pratchett is an all time favorite), watching silly sci-fi and fantasy shows (TNG, Buffy, etc.), cooking vegan food, playing board games, hanging out with my cat and bf, and wandering about town with my headphones on (just look at my profile for musical tastes).

I'm always looking for new folks who share my interests and who actually use LJ like a proper journal!

Date: 2012-02-08 02:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] helloautumn.livejournal.com
i'll bite!

my name's bethanne. i'm thirty-two, working as an office assistant (for a state government office) by day and an artist by night. happily married with two fluffy and awesome kitties.

love music (mostly indie + local music - i see a lot of bands and a lot of gigs), photography, traveling, cooking, art, and lots of other stuff you can find on my user info. i mostly write about my life, share photos and other media i dig.

my journal is friends only. please comment and let me know you'd like to be added and i'll add you. (i don't have notifications turned on that says someone added me.) thanks!

Date: 2012-02-08 10:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellbound-heart.livejournal.com
Hello, I am the friend that was complaining to [livejournal.com profile] goffburd about a lack of new folk on her LJ...so I shall be putting my money where my mouth is and spreading the word!

Anyway, as for me, I am a 32 (am I really 32?) year old woman living in York, UK. I work in various capacities, such as student mentor/amanuensis, English tutor, and proof-reader/editor, plus I write a lot of reviews and features for various horror sites (see my profile for more details) - so, as a proviso, I talk about films a fair amount, and practically all of those are some shade of horror/sci-fi or other.

Other stuff: I am a metal fan, I'm currently trying to get out to as many gigs as possible and having a good time doing so. I'm very interested in history, especially ancient Greece and Rome, the Celts, the Viking Age, the Anglo-Saxons...and, more up to date, I am a huge Victoriana geek, especially the more unseemly side of Victoriana.

I am non-religious, though have a soft spot (interest-wise) for the history of European paganism, and I am an equal opportunities naysayer of both left- and right-wing politics as I see fit!

Have a look at my interests list - which is pretty up-to-date - if you want to know more. Cheers!
Edited Date: 2012-02-08 10:52 am (UTC)

Date: 2012-02-08 11:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brynhilda.livejournal.com
I can't resist!
First up, thank you [livejournal.com profile] goffburd for putting this up!

Moi is a 41 year old 'mum' to 5 cats, 4 rabbits and a flock of different birds (yes, no husband, no bf/no gf, no kids ;), destined to become an old 'lonely' lady with lots of pets)...I live in the very west of Germany, not that far from the dutch border...in a boring town, just known for its HUGE mall.
I'm a geocacher, dreamer, fantasy reader, horror lover, agnostic atheist with a pagan past and so much more...My lj is dramafree and I do read all the entries on my f-list, even though I don't always comment, but I try to interact as often as possible. I love sharing photos (esp. of my pets) and ramble a lot...It would be great to find some new friends!!

Date: 2012-02-08 11:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brynhilda.livejournal.com
Thanks for the message:). You are sooo added:)!

Date: 2012-02-08 12:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meathiel.livejournal.com
I've seen you on mutual friends' journals ... friends?

PS: And anybody who knows/likes Faun is SO added! :D

Date: 2012-02-08 12:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meathiel.livejournal.com
Would you like to be friends? We seem to have quite a few things in common! :D

Like you I'm interested in history, esp. old Rome, the Celts, Middla Ages and Victorian times. I love Goth (et al) music ... travelling, photography, etc. If you want to know more check out my profile!

Date: 2012-02-08 12:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meathiel.livejournal.com
Friends? Oh damn ... I already know you! ;-)

Date: 2012-02-08 12:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elven-ranger.livejournal.com
I am 31 years old and of female body, in this life. I live in a fishing town in southwest England with my mum. I have a long term boyfriend, Steve, who lives a couple of towns away, and the pair of us are pretty bonkers, hehe. We are child free and not planning on altering that status any time in this life.

I work part time as a secondary-school supply teacher, am trained as a drama teacher, actress and martial artist, and am doing the final year of my Masters degree in educational research. I also am one half of a sword dancing/ stunt duo, and one of the co-founders and the main kicking-arse-into-gear-eer of a non-profit community theatre company which won an award for its contribution to the local community in 2010. And I am a "real person" (not an anorexic wafer) model.

My hobbies and interests include theatre and performing arts, stage combat, living history, medieval arms and armour, costuming, LARP, racing around in costume/ character as a French musketeer, pirate, wench, Knight Templar, high elven ranger, drow bandit - or whatever else takes my fancy but those are my favourites - , history, sword dancing, martial arts, creative writing, anticapitalism, organic vegetable gardening, reading, occultism, the paranormal, past lives, all things Elven, weird lucid dreaming experiments, new age, nature, photography, swimming in the sea, survival skills, speculative history, science fiction, fantasy, collecting recordings of rugby songs and similar impolite ditties, cuddling other peoples cats (since I cant have cats at home - parental ruling), non-conformity, thinking outside the box, and generally flittering along in my own random miasma.

Posts are usually about what I have been getting up to, recounting random incidents in the day, rants, and picspams, and average between 1 and 2 a day. I am looking for pretty active friends who do comment from time to time. I am an LJ addict and have this account since 2003.

Date: 2012-02-08 12:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brynhilda.livejournal.com
Good for you;)...hehehe...

Date: 2012-02-08 01:06 pm (UTC)
ext_16352: (Default)
From: [identity profile] ladyvox.livejournal.com
Hi there, friends? :) Some more info about me can be found on my profile page (http://ladyvox.livejournal.com/profile)!

Date: 2012-02-08 01:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ellierachael.livejournal.com
Hello I'd like to add you if that's ok.
I'm 25 and living in Sheffield. I did my undergrad in York, I still have a soft spot for the city :)

Date: 2012-02-08 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ellierachael.livejournal.com
I can never have enough fellow cat owners on my list :)

Date: 2012-02-08 01:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] changeofthemoon.livejournal.com
Adding you back!

Faun are excellent! And I love your banners of the Doctor!

Date: 2012-02-08 01:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ellierachael.livejournal.com
Why not *grin*

I'm Ellie, 25, married and living in Sheffield. I currently work as a carer with elderly adults with dementia but I'm actually a qualified Speech and Language Therapist and going through the stressful process of trying to find a job when there are none!
I have a cat and a guinea-pig. Generally post about day-to-day stuff, post a fair amount of photos. I'm very open so if you have a question you need only ask. I try to comment as much as I can and appreciate the same from my friends list. I love to actually get to know my friends list and develop proper "friendships" so communication and interaction is key :D
Hope to see some of you soon!

PS - [livejournal.com profile] goffburd I'd like to add you too, if that's ok?
Edited Date: 2012-02-08 01:42 pm (UTC)

Date: 2012-02-08 01:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] changeofthemoon.livejournal.com
I'd be interested in adding you! I have a definite interest in both sci fi films and the history of paganism.

Date: 2012-02-08 03:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellbound-heart.livejournal.com
Absolutely. Added!

Date: 2012-02-08 03:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellbound-heart.livejournal.com
I think we'll get on just fine. I ended up doing some speech and language work myself a few years ago, so that's interesting, and an ex-York habitee too. Added!

Date: 2012-02-08 03:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellbound-heart.livejournal.com
That would be lovely. I have to warn you though that I often post about (decidedly non-vegan) cooking - but I *always* put it behind a LJ cut! Added :)

Date: 2012-02-08 04:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tispity.livejournal.com
Hi, can I add you? We have quite a lot of interests in common as well as many mutual friends.

Also, PET PHOTOS! I am 100% in favour of pet photo sharing! :D

Date: 2012-02-08 04:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] goffburd.livejournal.com
Sure thing - I'll add you back :)

Date: 2012-02-08 04:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ilenn.livejournal.com
Well, hi! I'm 25, female, from Finland. I study English philology at Tampere University. I read and write fantasy, hoping to get a novel into publishable shape in the not too distant future. I'm a music junkie and I listen to mostly but not exclusively metal (for specific artists/bands, see profile). I tend to go overboard and get carried away like a sack of potatoes when I find something (or someone) to fangirl over.

I post mostly about stuff that happens to me, or when nothing happens (which is most of the time) it's just random rambling about fandoms/music/books/writing.

Date: 2012-02-08 04:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellbound-heart.livejournal.com
You like My Dying Bride and you rightly list Aaron Stainthorpe as a poet. I am adding you (if you don't mind!)

Date: 2012-02-08 05:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meathiel.livejournal.com
Thank you! :D

Date: 2012-02-08 05:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ilenn.livejournal.com
Not at all - quite the contrary! Adding you back :)
Page 1 of 15 << [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] >>
Page generated Sep. 26th, 2017 05:25 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios